Wyschnegradsky, Music for 4 pianos

Other Minds

The late composer Ivan Wyschnegradsky (1893-1979) was a tireless explorer in the realm of quarter-tone, eighths-of-tone, 16ths-of-tone, and other microtonal composition. Other Minds presents the first-ever American retrospective of works. program that will include Ainsi parlait Zarathoustra, a four-movement 30-minute work for four grand pianos, two of them tuned down a quarter-tone, and other works for piano ensemble.

This is what SF/Arts curator Jesse Hamlin has to say about Wyschnegradsky, Music for 4 pianos :

Other Minds celebrates the music of the late Russian-born 20th-century composer Ivan Wyschnegradsky with the first American retrospective of his quarter-tone, 16th-of-tone and other microtonal works. The piano duo HOCKET joins Martine Joste and others for a program that includes pieces for four pianos.

Event Info
Jun 16
Sun at 7
Yerba Buena Center for the Arts Theater
700 Howard, San Francisco
Info: 4159348134
Venue: 978-ARTS
Event Website Main Website Add to Calendar Map Visit San Francisco